Special Session

Start-ups will be key for innovation in the food sector

Session chair: Annick Verween and Begoña Pérez Villarreal
Date: 14th November
Time: 11:00-13:00h
Location: Main Auditorium

Session description

This session is dedicated to the RisingFoodStars, an association of handpicked high potential start-ups within EIT Food. The RisingFoodStars is a unique innovation vehicle that offers outstanding agrifoodstart-ups access to knowledge, networks and the opportunity to actively engage in EIT Food’s activities. On the other hand, as agile and swift partners, they can drive the innovations of the future within this large network. The complementary competences of start-ups lined up along the food supply chain bring unprecedented value in terms of cutting-edge technologies and innovative business models but also in terms of diversity of innovation culture and entrepreneurial mindset.

Project description

EIT Food’s vision is to put Europe at the centre of a global revolution in food innovation and production, and its value in society. EIT Food will boost the skills and entrepreneurial spirit in the sector and unlock the potential of small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs), which in turn will accelerate innovation, create jobs, benefit businesses and increase Europe’s competitiveness.

For more information visit www.eitfood.eu

Proposed program:
11.00-11.20: Brief introduction to the session by chairpersons
11.20-11.40: Innovative technologies: Energy Pulse Systems and Ypsicon
11.40-12.00: New appliances: Natural Machines and Flatev
12.00-12.20: Artificial and predictive intelligence applied to food testing and decision making: TellSpec and AI Talentum
12.20-12.40: Online platforms for health and resource stewardship: BeYou and RethinkResource
12.40-13.00: Wrap up and way forward

  1. 1. EIT Food

Name: Annick Verween
Company: EIT Food
Position: Manager RisingFoodStars
Address: I&I building, Kapeldreef 60, 3001 Heverlee, Belgium
Email address: Annick.verween@eitfood.eu

Name: Begoña Pérez Villarreal
Company: EIT Food
Position: CLC South Director
Address: I&I building, Kapeldreef 60, 3001 Heverlee, Belgium
Email address: begona.perezvillarreal@eitfood.eu

  1. 2. TellSpec

Name: Isabel Hoffmann
Company: TellSpec LTD 
Position: Founder & CEO
address: 83 Cambridge St, Pimlico, London, SW1V 4PS
email address: isabel@tellspec.com

  1. 3. BeYou

Names: Mario Massarelli,  Abir-Jean Mehawej
Company: BeYou health coach
Position: founders 
Address: C/Vía calle rec comtal 13, 1.1 Barcelona, Spain 
Email address: abir@beyouapp.com // mario@beyouapp.com

  1. 4. Ypsicon

Name: Leo Moreta
Company: Ypsicon Advanced Technologies S.L.
Position: Chief Marketing Officer
Address: C/Vía Trajana 50-56 Nave 21 08020 Barcelona, Spain
Email address: leo.moreta@ypsicon.com

  1. 5. EnergyPulse Systems

Name: Marcos Pereira
Company: EnergyPulse Systems, lda
Position: Founder
Address: Estrada do Paço do Lumiar, Polo Tecnológico de Lisboa, Lote 3,
1600 - 546 Lisboa, Portugal
Email address: marcos.pereira@energypulsesystems.com

  1. 6. ReThinkResource

Name: Linda Grieder
Company: RethinkResource GmbH
Position: Founder & CEO 
Address: Technoparkstrasse 1, 8005 Zürich
Email address: linda@rethink-resource.com

  1. 7. Flatev

Name: Pamela Vazquez
Company: flatev AG
Position: Chief Food Technology Officer 
Address: Zollstrasse 62, 8005, Zurich
Email address: pamela.vazquez@flatev.com

  1. 8. AI Talentum

Name: Antonio Vicente Contreras
Company: Artificial Intelligence Talentum
Address: Edificio CEEIM, Campus Universitario de Espinardo, 30100. Murcia, Spain
Email: avicente@aitalentum.com

Name: Amparo Roca Sabater
Company: Artificial Intelligence Talentum
Address: Edificio CEEIM, Campus Universitario de Espinardo, 30100. Murcia, Spain
Email: aroca@aitalentum.com

8. Natural Machines
Emilio Sepulveda
CEO & CoFounder 
emilio@naturalmachines.com

Joan Casellas
Project Manager 
joan.casellas@naturalmachines.com
Address: Duran i Bas 1, 1º 2ª, 08002 Barcelona

Register Now Submit Abstract Here View Program
Supporting Publications
Organised by
 
  • EFFOST
  • IUFOST
  • UAB
  • UDL
Sponsors
 
  • Anuga Food Tec
  • cargill
  • Darp
  • GNT
  • Hiperbaric
  • Darp Transference Program
  • Triptolemos
  • IUFOST
Exhibitors
 
  • Ederna
  • GNT
  • Hiperbaric
  • IUFOST
  • Wiley
  • LDI
  • foodtech
Administration by
 
Elsevier